Lee's Fishing Page
MAINE - Life in the Slow Lane
Welcome to Lee's Fishing Page
Wednesday, April 17 2024 @ 10:56 PM EDT
11 posts :: Page 1 of 2
By: ValleyFisher (offline)  Sunday, March 24 2013 @ 11:53 AM EDT (Read 13456 times)  

Hello brother anglers, and greetings from the Black Hills of South Dakota.  I am a life-long resident of Rapid City which sits at the foot-hills of Mt. Rushmore.   We have miles of terrific stream fishing, the best of it running almost through downtown Rapid City.

Fly fishing here was a forgotten art when I was a kid.  Everybody fished with bait and spinners.   Then a local fly shop opened up and all that changed.    When I was a kid I would get instructional books about fishing from the local library.  Some of them talked about hatches and tying flies.  I tried to figure all this out, but it was a mystery.   I tied some really ugly flies with bait hooks, common feathers found on the ground, and sewing thread.   I used an old Xacto knife for a vice.   Some of them worked for bass, but I wasn't successful catching trout with them.

I began fly fishing in the spring of 91.  I was very fortunate to have a neighbor across the street who was a professional fly fishing guide.   I ran into him on the stream one day and it didn't take much observation by him to see that I didn't have a clue.   He gave me some basic instruction on stream entomology, finding the fish, and tying key patterns with appropriate and quality material.   Before long I was becoming a proficient angler and passing on instruction to others.

What I love most about fly fishing is that one can set his own parameters on his sport.   I prefer to catch fish only on rods I build myself with flies that I have tied.   I like to see how many different species of fish I can catch with my fly rods in one year.