This is an old revision of the document!
Publishing a Story
Stories can be thought of as blog entries, news articles, or general announcements. Every story belongs to a Topic.
Stories are generally broken up into two parts, an introduction and the body text. The introduction, or sometimes called the teaser will be displayed on the main index page and if there is a body text portion, a Read more link will be appended to the end of the intro.
There are several general options you can select when publishing your story:
|Title ||The title of your story.
|ID ||This is the unique ID that will be used to reference your story via a URL. You can change this to something more descriptive if you wish. I suggest you do not change this.
|Topic ||You must select a topic for each story. General News is selected by default.
|Show Topic Icon ||Determines whether the topic icon will be displayed at the beginning of your story.
|Draft ||You can save a draft copy of a story for another user to review or to work on later. As long as it is saved with the Draft box checked, it will not be available for viewing to site members.
|Post Mode ||Determines if the story will be HTML or plain text.
When editing your story, you can access the publishing options by clicking the Publishing Options tab at the top of the screen. You can change:
the publishing date (future-dated stories will not be published until that date)
whether the story is featured (the default is not featured; only the admin can feature a story, so the option does not exist for users. A featured story will show at the top of the list of stories, even if a newer story is added, until another story is flagged as featured)
whether the story will show on the front page (i.e. home page) of your site, or whether it will only show in the topic sub-section, show on front page is set by default.
whether comments are allowed
whether trackbacks are allowed Do not use this feature (this is defaulted to disabled; trackbacks are links to sites which link to yours; use trackbacks with caution, because many trackbacks could be spam)
There are several ways to add images to your stories.
Click on the Images tab at the top of the story editor screen. Use the Browse buttons to look for the images on your computer for uploading. The Images section of the story editor has more notes on how to integrate the images in your post. You will need to insert the [image1] etc. tags into the story manually.
This option is not the best to use, so I discurrage you from using it
When using the Advanced WYSIWYG editor, you can select the Image Button to upload and insert images to your story.
If you are using the Media Gallery plugin, you can upload images to a Media Gallery album and include them in your story using the [media:] auto tag. See Posting Photo's in a Forum Post|Media Gallery Tag.
The archive options allow you to set whether the story will be archived or deleted on a particular date. The default is for no archiving or deleting. To change the setting, click on the Archive Options link and make the desired changes.
Permissions indicate who is allowed to read and edit the story. The default is that anyone can read the story, and only the owner can edit it.
The possible permission options are:
Anonymous visitors (not logged-in) - read-access on or off
Members (must be logged-in) - read-access on or off
Group members (must be logged-in) - read-access on or off; edit-access on or off
Owner (must be logged-in) - read-access on or off; edit-access on or off
To allow only members to read the story, un-select the check-box under Anonymous. Members must log into the site before they can read the story.
To prevent members from reading the story (i.e. if you have a story about creating a user-account and don't want it to show once they have logged in), de-select the check-box under Members.
glFusion also has permissions set by groups. By default, the Admin account and any account with Root access is a member of all groups except Remote Users. Members can also be assigned selectively to individual groups (i.e. Story Admin). By changing the group showing in the drop-down box and selecting the check-box E under Groups, you will allow anyone in the selected group to be able to edit the story.
You will want to retain read and edit access to your story. De-selecting those options does not seem to remove your read and edit access, but you are advised against changing that because you may lock yourself out of the story.